Islamic (Hijri)Calendar: Lunar Calendar months with explanation: Online Quran



The Islamic calendar diverges from the Gregorian calendar in its reliance on the lunar cycle. instead of the solar cycle. Despite this difference. both calendars share the commonality of consisting of 12 months. Each of the 12 Islamic months holds distinct significance. with four of them being considered sacred. prohibiting any form of fighting or conflict.

These months carry a profound and symbolic history. making them intriguing to explore. If you’re eager to delve into the meanings behind the Islamic months. continue reading here.

Islamic Calendar 12 Months:

Muharram: (Forbiden)                            ٱلْمُحَرَّم

Muharram, the initial month of the Islamic calendar, translates to ‘forbidden’ in Arabic. Its name stems from being one of the sacred months when fighting is strictly prohibited. to ensure the safety of Muslims returning from Hajj. A pivotal event during Muharram is the Day of Ashura on the 10th day.

Safar: (Void)                                      صَفَر

The second month, Safar, translates to ‘void.’ There are two proposed reasons for this name. Some believe it reflects the emptiness of Arab homes during this season. as people were out gathering food. Others link it to historical accounts of Arabs looting enemies.  homes after battles fought during Safar. To promote peace. Muslims were directed by Allah (SWT) to relocate to Medina during this month.

Rabi al-Awwal: (The First Spring)                       رَبِيع ٱلْأَوَّل

Rabi al-Awwal, the third month. it is a joyous period translating to ‘the first spring’ or ‘to graze.’ It commemorates the birth and passing of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) in 570 A.D.

Rabi al-Thani: (The Second Spring)                               رَبِيع ٱلْآخِر

The fourth month, Rabi al-Thani, means ‘the second spring.’ While various events occur during this month.  it is often a time of mourning for the deaths of significant figures in Islamic history.

Jumada al-Awwal: (The First of Parched Land)          جُمَادَىٰ ٱلْأُولَىٰ

Jumada al-Awwal, the fifth month, translates to ‘the first parched land.’ Its historical association with the first month of summer and possible connections to freezing. weather causing parched land are subjects of interpretation.

Jumada al-Thani: (The Last of Parched Land)               جُمَادَىٰ ٱلْآخِرَة

The sixth month, Jumada al-Thani, means ‘the last parched land.’ Noteworthy events in this month include the birth and death of Fatimah al-Zahra. and the passing of Caliph Abu Bakr.

Rajab: (Respect, honour)                                      رَجَب

Rajab, the seventh month, signifies ‘respect’ or ‘honour’ and.  it is the second sacred month, forbidding conflict. It is considered Allah’s (SWT) month., designated to facilitate the voluntary pilgrimage, Umrah.

Sha’ban: (Scattered)                                شَعْبَان

The eighth month, Sha’ban, known as the month of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). it holds significance despite being overshadowed by Rajab and Ramadan. Its name means ‘scattered. it is referring to the historical dispersion of Arabs seeking water. Many Muslims use Sha’ban for Ramadan preparation.

Ramadan: (Burning heat)                                 رَمَضَان

The ninth month, Ramadan. it is widely recognized even outside the Muslim community, means ‘burning heat. Muslims observe fasting from dawn to dusk for spiritual purification. and to empathize with the less fortunate.

Shawwal: (Raised)                                   شَوَّال

Following Ramadan is Shawwal, the tenth month, meaning ‘raised.’ It is a celebratory month, marked by Eid al-Fitr . where prayers, food, and gifts are exchanged.

Dhul al-Qadah: (The One of truce, Sitting)                           ذُو ٱلْقَعْدَة

The eleventh month, Dhul al-Qadah.it translates to ‘the month of truce.’ It is the third sacred month. ensuring a peaceful journey for Muslims heading to Mecca for Hajj.

Dhul Hijjah: (The One of Pilgrimage)                                 ذُو ٱلْحِجَّة

The final month, Dhul Hijjah, the holiest, means ‘pilgrimage. Muslims perform Hajj during this month.  it includes significant events like the Day of Arafah and Eid al-Adha.

Make the Most of the Months:

Seize various opportunities throughout the Islamic months. such as donating Zakat, offering dua during sacred months. making charitable contributions, and giving Sadaqah Jariyah. May Allah (SWT) bless you throughout the year, sparing you hardship. and may all your months be prosperous and healthy.



Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *